Wonderings to Pursue

Musings about the big and small

What’s my mission in life? March 26, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — shanbeaux @ 10:45 pm

From time to time we all have to make major life decisions. It’s at these moments that I find myself most seeking God’s will for my life.  I am walking through just such a season right now.  I am trying to decide how to make adjustments to my life so that I can be less busy all the time.  I feel like I need my life to operate with a DVR pause button so I can catch up on all things I need to do!  I know I’m not alone in this, and I know many people probably have much more on their plates than I do, but I want off of the “crazy train.”  So, I’ve decided I must figure out what I can let go of and what I must keep in order to maintain a healthier (mentally, physically, emotionally, etc.) life for me and my family. 

Last night as I was praying about a decision I need to make regarding a change in my career life, (Okay, truth be told, it was more me just worrying about it for an extended period of quite time with my Bible in my lap!) I decided I should review the things I had underlined in a Women of Faith Bible study called Resting in Him that I had begun the day before.  In the foreword Patsy Clairmont writes, “We were not meant to do all that is before us, as admirable as it might sound.  Doing too much will strip our gears and drain our energy tank.”  These words stopped me, and I had to think about them more.  How many times in my life have a run myself ragged trying to do it all!  But how do I KNOW what to let go of??? 

I moved on to reviewing lesson one. It had me consider Jesus’ schedule.  Often He went off to a solitary place and prayed.  While I was aware of this fact, I don’t think I every really thought about the fact that if Jesus, who was still God, found it necessary…not just for fellowship, but for direction as well…to meet with God regularly, then I probably need to as well!  Sometimes, I let that go.  Sometimes, I think I have so much to do that even though I would really love some quiet time with the Lord, it just isn’t possible for that day…even though I know that God is the one who made 24 hours in a day…even though I know that He created me for fellowship with Him…even though I KNOW that if I can’t find time in those 24 hours to spend a few minutes with Him, then I must be doing something He didn’t call me to do that day! 

Jesus knew why he was here.  He knew that he was here to demonstrate his love for mankind by making a way for us to be restored to a never-ending love relationship with God, but he was also here to heal wounds that were temporal and a result of our being human.  And if that wasn’t enough, he was also here to train up leaders who could take His message of hope into the future.  That’s a pretty big life mission, don’t you think!  That’s a lot to accomplish in 24 hours a day! 

Every day he made a choice to spend time with God.  I can’t even begin to imagine what they talked about, but I know that Jesus remained in God’s love and obeyed his commands.  John 15:9-11 says, “As the Father has loved me, so have I loved you.  Now remain in my love.  If you obey my commands, you will remain in my love, just as I have obeyed my Father’s commands and remain in his love.  I have told you this so that my joy may be in you, and that your joy may be complete.”  I bolded the words that give me a clue as to what Jesus and God discussed.  Even with such a massive life mission, Jesus was able to be filled with joy because he obeyed his Father’s commands and remained in his love.  Even though Jesus’ days were filled with preaching, and teaching and healing, he still knew which things to say, “yes,” to and which things to pass over because he began each day by spending time with his Father to find out what specifically He was called to do that day.  Because Jesus knew why He was here, he was able to joyfully walk through each day. 

Jesus accomplished His earthly calling one day at a time.  What a lesson to learn!  If I want to be filled with HIS joy (refer back to the verses from John), then I must follow His example…KNOW why I am here and then SEEK God’s direction for how to live that out one day at a time. 

Step one for me in this process was to spend some time trying to articulate in writing specifically what I think God’s mission for my life is.  It took some time, but I think I have been able to identify eight major objectives that I plan to use to guide my decision-making.  Going back to the Patsy Clairmont quote, I was not meant to all that is before me.  If I consider each decision I make (major life ones or even what to do with 15 extra minutes) in regard to whether it will help me to accomplish my eight objectives, then I should be able to know what to say, “yes” to and what to pass over. 

Lord Jesus, help me to learn from your example!

 

One Response to “What’s my mission in life?”

  1. Billy Aaron Says:

    I want to subscribe to your newsletter


Leave a Reply

